top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Cunningham

My Family’s Experience with Covid-19

Updated: Jun 16, 2020

by Mayerlin M.


It all started on March 13. My mom would not let me leave the house but unfortunately she and my stepfather had to go to work or do shopping for the home. From one day to the next my mom and stepfather began to feel bad. They had fever and body pain, which led them to stop working and avoid having contact with me. My mother did the food and left it at the table. When they finished eating, they would go to their room and I would go out, take the food and I locked myself in my room.


I was strictly forbidden to be out of my room, I could only go to the bathroom, but I listened as my mom and my stepfather talked about how worried they were because they didn't know what they had. My mom was cleaning the house with chlorine every day, but there were times when she felt very bad. She couldn't breathe and sometimes she cried.


One night I started with the same symptoms, fever without stopping, body pain, tiredness. I couldn't smell or taste anything, however I did not feel so bad and so I avoided telling them.Three days had passed and I started to feel that I was short of breath which led me to tell my mom. She got mad at me because she said that I couldn't hide things.


The next day they started looking for a doctor. They contacted one by call and the doctor said: "Don't leave home. Avoid going to hospitals even if you have a bad cough and if you have a very high fever. You just can go to the hospital when you feel that you run out of the air in a serious way." In less than two days pills arrived, and a respirator to keep at home for any emergency.


My stepfather started making tea every day and gave us at night before sleeping. I spent my birthday sick and for me, it was very sad because my mom could not be with me all the time and I could not eat well because even the food had no flavor in my mouth.I was ill for approximately two and a half weeks and at that time my means of distraction were classes and doing my homework since I could not exercise or move much because I felt that I was running out of the air. The nights were hard because it was the time of day where I felt bad, but little by little I was recovering. The last thing I recovered was the smell and taste.


Now, thank God, all my family and I are well and grateful that we did not have such a bad time with this disease. Everything returned to normal. My mother began to work and at work, they sent her to do the test which came out negative. She and all of us have gone through that stage and now we have antibodies but we still have to take care of ourselves because even the doctors do not know how to really eliminate COVID19.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page