top of page
  • Writer's pictureSarah Cunningham

My Life in Quarantine

by Kevin M.


Since quarantine started, my house became a little crazy. My mom, my stepfather, my brother and me became a family who is always fighting. First started my brother and me. We share the room and the room is kinda small so all the sounds are easy to hear. When I’m studying, he is playing. If he does something good, he screams. If he dies in the game, he screams and speaks so freaking loud that if i'm in the kitchen and he’s in the room, I can hear him talking even when the door is closed. Now imagine having him next to me the whole day. I cannot even hear what the teacher says when I am in online classes.

That's another one. He never attends the online classes and not because he does not have classes. It's because he doesn’t want to. My mom comes to the room and says, “Are you in class?” and my brother says, “No, I don't have” when he does have. Now he is failing the year :D (Wow my mom just came to scream at him because he has 10 homeworks missing, and only for language). My mom and my brother are always fighting because he does not attend at school but to me, honest, my mom doesnt do anything to make him do the homework. I mean he knows what to do, so if he is not doing anything, at least she could take the games away that he has. Talking about games, he f****ed up the school computer because the little boy wants to play a game :D.

About my parents, they are worried, because only my Stepfather is working. He doesn't have so much money and the bills are coming. Well, they came and we have to pay them but with what money if they don't work? The money that my father makes, they spend it to buy food for us and the gloves and masks.

Welcome back to my brother. I think the most problematic is my brother because he doesn't do anything in the house. He is always playing or in his bed, and if my mom tells him to do just clean the box of the cat, he starts with, “Mom, why always me?” and she starts to scream again saying “IT'S THE ONLY THING THAT I ASK YOU TO DO AND YOU CANNOT DO IT? TELL ME WHAT'S SO IMPORTANT THAT YOU CANNOT CLEAN THE MISERABLE SAND OF THE CAT? DID YOU WASH YOUR CLOTHES? DID YOU MAKE YOUR OWN FOOD? DID YOU CLEAN THE HOUSE? DID YOU AT LEAST DO YOUR HOMEWORK? NO, RIGHT?” and it's kinda stressful to hear thatthe whole day. All the days the people in my house are screaming and I know because they are stressed because of the quarantine, having to be the whole day in a house without doing anything special.

And me, well me... I look like everything is good and say everything is okay, but the reality is that it isn’t okay. I’m tired of this. I cannot sleep well without thinking how of I’m going to die, dreaming the different ways. I don’t know why I am dreaming about that. Do I want to die too young? Do I have depression again? I don't know. I know this is so different from what I started with but, who are you to tell me what to do? I'm just telling you how I feel, how it is to be in your freaking house the whole day just because of a Pandemic.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page